ICC Cricket World Cup Winners List by year


First Row Sports proudly presents the list of ICC world cup winners by years for our precious fans of cricket. You probably can name the recent world champion of ICC world cup, and that is Australia. ESPN Cricinfo gave complete ball b ball coverage of that match.  But can you name the word cricket champion for the year 1992 and for the year 1996. Well that might be not an easy question to answer. Cricket fans are wager to know that which country has won the champion many times and what’s their favorite team or country standings in the ICC ODI world cup. To solve all these queries, here we have a complete list.

The first ICC ODI world cup was hosted by England in 1975 and the last one is held in 2015 co-hosted in Australia and New Zealand. The first one being won by West Indies and the last one, you know that’s Australia. Since 1975 up till now, total 11 main events of ICC world cup has held. The first 3 was hosted in England and then in other coteries that are the full-member of ICC. These full-members include, West Indies, New Zealand, England, Pakistan, India, Bangladesh, Zimbabwe, South Africa, Sri Lanka and Australia. These 10 teams do not need to qualify for the world up however there are some non full-members teams that has to qualify for the ICC main event in pre-qualifying rounds. These including UAE, Oman, Hong Kong, Netherlands, Afghanistan, Scotland, Ireland, Kenya and a few more.

ICC World Cup Winners

ICC Cricket World Cup Winner List Year-wise

Year Host(s) Winner Runner-up Margin
1975 England West Indies
291/8 (60 overs)
274 all out (58.4 overs)
West Indies won by 17 runs
1979 England West Indies
286/9 (60 overs)
194 all out (51 overs)
West Indies won by 92 runs
1983 England India
183 all out (54.4 overs)
West Indies
140 all out (52 overs)
India won by 43 runs
1987 India, Pakistan Australia
253/5 (50 overs)
246/8 (50 overs)
Australia won by 7 runs
1992 Australia, New Zealand Pakistan
249/6 (50 overs)
227 all out (49.2 overs)
Pakistan won by 22 runs
1996 Pakistan, India
Sri Lanka
Sri Lanka
245/3 (46.2 overs)
241/7 (50 overs)
Sri Lanka won by 7 wickets
1999 England Australia
133/2 (20.1 overs)
132 all out (39 overs)
Australia won by 8 wickets
2003 South Africa, Zimbabwe Australia
359/2 (50 overs)
234 all out (39.2 overs)
Australia won by 125 runs
2007 West Indies Australia
281/4 (38 overs)
Sri Lanka
215/8 (36 overs)
Australia won by 53 runs
2011 India, Sri Lank, Bangladesh India
277/4 (48.2 overs)
Sri Lanka
274/6 (50 overs)
India won by 6 wickets
2015 Australia, New Zealand Australia
186/3 (33.1 overs)
New Zealand
183 all out (45 overs)
Australia won by 7 wickets
2019 England, Wales Upcoming Cricket World Cup
2023 India


Most Successful Team in ICC World Cup

Among those 11 competitions for the cricket championship, Australia won 5 times and is the current world cricket champion. Among the other teams, West Indies and India take chance to won the title 2, 2 times; rest of other countries including Pakistan, England, and Sri Lanka has won the cup only one time.


Watch All Cricket matches on Watchcric Live

Australia The ICC Winners
Australia is the Current World Cricket Winner

Here is country-wise standing of ICC World Cup

  • Australia won 5 times
  • India won 2 times
  • West Indies won 2 times
  • Pakistan won 1 time
  • England won 1 time
  • Sri Lanka won 1 time

Upcoming ICC Cricket World Cup

The upcoming world cup will be held in 2019 in England while the 2nd next in India in 2023. Now let see who won these 2 events.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *